The following food ingredients should be avoided by all Muslims and care should be exercised while doing your shopping:
- Animal Shortening*
- Animal Fat *
- Broth* (from animals)
- Enzymes*: Microbial Enzymes are okay
- Ethyl alcohol
- L-cysteine (if from human hair)
- Lipase*: Only animal lipase should be avoided
- Rennet*: All forms should be avoided except for plant/microbial/synthetic.
- Stock* (from animals)
- Vanilla Extract/Flavour
- Whey*: Should be avoided unless the rennet used in its production is plant/microbial/synthetic.
* May be consumed if from Halal, Zabihah, animals
Look out for these food ingredients when you shop. Always remember to read the food ingredients before you buy any food product. If in doubt, leave out!
Alcohol (Ethanol, Ethyl Alcohol)
Alcohol is a colorless liquid, produced by the fermentation of sugar or starch, that is the intoxicating agent in fermented drinks and is used as a solvent. Also called ethanol and ethyl alcohol.
Shortening is a type of fat such as lard that is solid at room temperature, and is used for making pastry.
Meat from the back and sides of a hog that has been salted, dried, and often smoked.
A liquid made by cooking vegetables, meat, seafood, or poultry in water for a long time, used as a base for soups and sauces.
A protein substance produced in living cells, that influences a chemical reaction within a plant or animal without being changed itself; an organic catalyst. Enzymes help break down food so that it can be digested. Pepsin is an enzyme.
An odorless, tasteless, protein substance like glue or jelly, obtained by boiling the bones, hoofs, and other waste parts of animals. It dissolves easily in hot water and is used in making jellied salads and desserts, camera film, and glue.
A strong colorless alcoholic drink distilled from grain and flavored with juniper berries.
Meat cut from the thigh of the hind leg of a hog after curing by salting or smoking.
L-cysteine is a food ingredient which is used in bakery products as a dough conditioner. It is often used in pizza crusts, pita breads and in bagels. It is made from human hair, chicken/duck feathers and synthetic materials. L-cysteine from human hair is Haram and must always be avoided. Synthetic and chicken/duck feather L-cysteine is Halal and may be consumed.
The fat of pigs or hogs, melted down and made clear. Lard is made especially of the internal fat of the abdomen and is used in cooking.
An enzyme produced by the liver, pancreas, or stomach, or by plant seeds, that breaks down fats.
An enzyme in the gastric juice of the stomach that helps to digest meat, eggs, cheese, and other proteins.
Substance containing rennin, obtained from the stomach of a calf or other ruminant, used for curdling milk in making cheese and junket.
An alcoholic liquor made from sugar cane or molasses. It can be clear but is usually colored brownish-red by storage in oak casks or by the addition of caramel.
A liquid made by simmering meat, fish, bones, or vegetables with herbs in water, used in soups, stews, and sauces.
A hard fatty substance extracted from the fat of sheep and cattle.
- Alcohol fermented from grapes: an alcoholic drink made by fermenting the juice of grapes
- Alcohol fermented from other fruit: an alcoholic drink made by fermenting the juice of fruit other than grapes, or the juice of other plants
A flavouring extract made from the vanilla bean and used in candy, ice cream, and perfumes.
The flavour extracted from vanilla beans is most commonly dissolved in alcohol. Documentation from a distributor of vanilla extract showed that the ingredient contained 50% alcohol.
The watery part of milk that separates from the curd when milk sours and becomes coagulated, or when cheese is made.
Rennet is used to curd the milk. Whey should be avoided because the rennet used to curd the milk could be from a haram or non-Zabihah animal.
Please Click followings links for more reference of other sources :-
Source from http://www.slideshare.net/kingabid/list-of-halal-haram-products-ingredients:-