CRITERIA FOR USE OF THE TERM “HALAL”
The term halal may be used for foods which are considered lawful. Under the Islamic Law, all sources of food are lawful except the following sources, including their products and derivatives which are considered unlawful (Haram Food):
- Food of Animal Origin
- Pigs and boars.
- Dogs, snakes and monkeys.
- Carnivorous animals with claws and fangs such as lions, tigers, bears and other similar animals.
- Birds of prey with claws such as eagles, vultures, and other similar birds.
- Meat from swine
- Pests such as rats, centipedes, scorpions and other similar animals.
- Animals forbidden to be killed in Islam i.e., ants, bees and woodpecker birds.
- Animals which are considered repulsive generally like lice, flies, maggots and other similar animals.
- Animals that live both on land and in water such as frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals.
- Mules and domestic donkeys.
- All poisonous and hazardous aquatic animals.
- Any other animals not slaughtered according to Islamic Law.
- Blood and blood by-product.
- Human parts or its derivatives (e.g. L-Cysteinefrom human hair etc)
- Any thing liquid or solid came out from human or animal hollow such as urine, faeces, vomit and pus (Najis).
- Food of Plant Origin
- Intoxicating and hazardous plants except where the toxin or hazard can be eliminated during processing.
- Alcoholic drinks.
- All forms of intoxicating and hazardous drinks.
- Food Additives
- All food additives derived from Items 1, 2 and.3.
- The person should be a Muslim who is mentally sound and knowledgeable of the Islamic slaughtering procedures.
- The animal to be slaughtered should be lawful according to Islamic law.
- The animal to be slaughtered should be alive or deemed to be alive at the time of slaughtering.
- The phrase “Bismillah” (In the Name of Allah) should be invoked immediately before the slaughter of each animal.
- The slaughtering device should be sharp and should not be lifted off the animal during the slaughter act.
- The slaughter act should sever the trachea, oesophagus and main arteries and veins of the neck region.
Food additives like gelatin, enzymes, emulsifiers, Fat (Edible Oils except it is purely source of veg. or Pure Ghee derived from halal mammals fat) etc can be derived from the source of animal or plants. The question is, if the source is from an animal origin, is the animal being slaughtered according to the Islamic law (Zabiha)? If it is not Zabiha, then the food containing these additives would be Haram too.
Disclaimer: Following food guides are given for more understanding but these are not the Fatwa or verdict, it may be contradicted according to source or according to different opinion in school of shariah or unintentional error or over sight. Please update if any part or information is contradicted according to Islamic law.